2023 Annual Don Hampton Conference and Awards Ceremony

To register for this event, please visit the Iowa Homeland Security & Emergency Management Training Page
For more information email us at [email protected]

8:30am – 9:00am: Registration/Networking

9:00am – 9:30am: Conference Begins – Opening Remarks

Melissa Spencer, Coordinator, Story County Emergency Management

John Benson, Director, Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Mindy Benson, Chair of Board of Directors, IDHRC

9:30am -10:30am: Workshop Presentation

Self-Care for Disaster Responders: Taking Care of Yourself in Order to Help Others

Presented by Vic Young, Team Rubicon

10:30am – 10:45am: Break/Networking

10:45am – 11:45am:

Sessions 1

EXPERIENCES FROM THE FIELD: Volunteers in Disaster Response

Moderated by Reece Downey, IDHRC Volunteer & Donations Management Committee


Cassie Dubberke, Invest DMS

Dewitt Boyd, Conservation Corps MN&IA

Brad Lathrup, Conservation Corps MN&IA

Barb Meister, GoServ Global

Overview of the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program & Iowa Disaster Case Advocacy

Mary Ready, Iowa Community Action Association

Kent Maahs, Iowa Department of Homeland Security & Emergency Management

Lori Williams, Iowa Department of Homeland Security & Emergency Management

11:45am – 12:45pm Lunch & Don Hampton Volunteer Awards Ceremony

(Lunch provided by Hot Meals USA)

12:45pm – 1:45pm:

Spring Community Disasters: Lessons Learned Panel & Discussion

Marissa Reisen, Washington County Emergency Management Agency

Travis Beckman, Johnson County Emergency Management Agency

Scott Clarke, American Red Cross

1:45pm – 2:00pm: Break/Networking

2:00pm – 3:00pm:

Sessions 2

Understanding How to Serve Individuals with Dementia During Disasters

Hayl Bergeland, Iowa Department of Health and Human Services

Legal Issues and Considerations in Times of Disaster

Josh Gaul, Iowa Legal Aid

Lisa Gavin, Iowa Legal Aid

3:00pm – 3:30pm: Wrap up/Reflections of the Day

Mindy Benson, Chair of the Board of Directors, IDHRC

Jodi Freet, Treasurer, IDHRC